High on Fire @ Roadburn 2013

pike

I missed the first track of High on Fire’s second set for Roadburn 2013, due to a series of ATM / beer-coin machine mishaps.

Straight after Cult of Luna’s set, I booked for the merch table. With a new Cult of Luna hoodie in hand, I was glad that I wasn’t given the opportunity to drunkenly bore the life out of the Cult of Luna guitarist, like I had a couple of months previous at the Glasgow show.

I was then unable to pass up buying the Ocean’s “Giant Squid vs Blue Whale” t-shirt. That shit is me… Unfortunately this left me with no cash for the rest of the evening. The ATM then spat a 50 Euro note at me. I can’t feed the beer-coin machine 50 euros with only a fistful of hours left for the festival. Drama.

When I finally had a beer in mitt at the main stage, Matt Pike was barking out “Frost Hammer!”. For the rest of that week, whenever I finished a sentence, I had to restrain myself from not yelling out “Frost Hammer!” or “Fury Whip!”. Matt Pike is the king of that riff – a catchy phrase at the end of the riff. “His Evil Never Sleeps!”

The weed clouds even surpassed that of the Electric Wizard set, as the pummelling gallop of Devilution kicked in.

The Thunderstruck-esque riff of Snakes for the Divine, brought a huge crowd response, complete with a closing sing-along.

High on Fire filled the main venue twice, and received the biggest crowd response of the festival. A genuine triumph.

One Response to “High on Fire @ Roadburn 2013”

  1. “I was glad that I wasn’t given the opportunity to drunkenly bore the life out of the Cult of Luna guitarist”…funny stuff man, I can see that happening. High on Fire and Electric Wizard…pretty cool line up…..

Leave a Reply

