Wickerman Festival – The People

P1010117

Every year on the west coast of Scotland, towards the English border, Wickerman Festival is held. The highlight is, of course, the burning of the wicker effigy to close the festival. For the two days prior, 18,000 people pitch their tents, drink, dance and listen to some of the best acts that Britain has to offer.

As an Australian in Scotland, a stranger in a strange land, usually I attend these festivals by myself and spend my days and evenings bouncing between stages and tents. The music is everything. Wickerman Festival was different. I was lucky enough to attend with my flatmate, his sister and seven of her friends. The communal experience of sharing drinks and laughs was as big a part as the music. I’ve travelled reasonably widely, and I have found no wittier people than those of the west of Scotland.

Large groups, especially if they do not entirely consisting of stinking dudes, attract neighbours and passers… and so, we met lots of Scottish characters. We heard the owner of an inflatable dolphin, named Shep, calling from his sleeping bag to his lost pet at 3am in the morning. “Shep! SHEEEEEEP!” on one side… and on the other side we saw the effects of punters guzzling down buckfast, or as the locals call it “wreck-the-hoose-joose”.

How will we all feel in the morning?

3 Responses to “Wickerman Festival – The People”

  1. I hope Ottawa greets you this well.

  2. I want to to thank you for this excellent read!!
    I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you book marked
    to check out new stuff you post…

  3. Hi friends, how is all, and what you wish for to say regarding this article, in my view its genuinely remarkable in favor of me.

Leave a Reply

